TINY TALK TUESDAY with TARA LAZAR

I’m not a nail biter, but I was a wee bit nervous making my first post that will hit the writing world, friends and family.

When I decided to create “Tiny Talk Tuesdays” I wanted to make it simple, lighthearted and fun. I hope you enjoy my interview with Tara. Please don’t hesitate to post.

I stumbled on Tara through Facebook. My first connection-she’s a writer. Secondly, she’s an east coast native like me. Through social media, I got to know Tara and her successes as a writer and about her handsome family. Tara and I have never formally met (hopefully, one day). She’s one of those people, like me, that see no person is too small to talk to. I try not to burden her with my writing questions, but even with her busy schedule, she somehow finds the time.

Tara created PiBoIdMo (Picture Book Idea Month) as the picture book writer’s answer to NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). She’s a member of SCBWI and speaks at conferences and events regarding picture books, brainstorming techniques and social media for authors. She also teaches for The Writer’s Circle Workshops.

Tara writes quirky, humorous picture books featuring magical places that only kids can create. Her adorable debut picture book, THE MONSTORE, will handful more in the next two years. Publisher’s Weekly Children’s Bookshelf has an post today about her newest book announcement.

Tara is represented by Ammi-Joan Paquette of the Erin Murphy Literary Agency. She writes her way to success in New Jersey.

To get to know her a smidge more, I asked Tara a few simple questions.

tara

ME: Tell us something hardly anyone knows about you.

TARA: I remember details from my first birthday party. I have a very keen memory. That’s probably why I’m a children’s writer. My mind still lives in the past.

ME: Do you have a nickname?

TARA: No. because Tara is short enough. But I wanted a nickname as a teen because many friends were known as something other than their given first name, something cool. A friend called “Loop” came up with “Merit” for little-known reasons, but that (thankfully) did not stick. Then a friend in college invented “Tarot-card Dawn-of-the-Dead Mahonaise”, a nickname for my first, middle and last names. He was the only person who called me that, so I don’t think that qualifies as a real nickname. Plus, it’s too darn long.

ME: What is your greatest fear?

TARA: Sharks! My grandmother took me to see “Jaws” when I was five years old. That should explain it.

ME: What motivates you in life?

TARA:  The people I love, the things I love, and making others happy in any way I can.

ME: If you could have lunch with any book character, who would it be and why?

TARA: Willy Wonka. I want to know all his sweet secrets.

I want to thank Tara for taking the time out of her day to be part of my blog.

5 thoughts on “TINY TALK TUESDAY with TARA LAZAR

  1. Nice blog. Enjoyed the interview. I too remember seeing Jaws at the drive in, but it got me interested in sharks. Keep up the great work Maria.

    Like

Leave a Reply

