Tiny Talk Tuesday with . . . Jennifer Larson

I had the pleasure of meeting Jen, for the first time, at the SCBWI conference in Los Angeles this past August. Our personalities clicked and we hit it off right away. You can’t help but be drawn to her personality and drive.

Jen had been teaching for 14 years before she decided that she wanted to focus her time on her writing. This path led her to not only write, but also self-publish her 1st children’s picture book, Lost Soles. Jen gave me an advanced copy. The pictures were vibrant and held a great little story about the emotional journey of a lost sandal. Lost Soles will be available on Amazon in the next few days. You can find Jen here, http://www.authorjenniferlarson.com, @authorjlarson, and http://www.authorjenniferlarson.blogspot.com.

Since August, we still  keep in contact. I’m getting to know more about Jen and her self-publishing journey, while also earning a sweet new friend from the Carolinas. Below, we will learn a bit more about her. Enjoy and feel free to comment.

jen

ME: Tell us something that has been in the vault. Something hardly anyone knows about you.

JEN: Not everyone know this, but I photograph lone shoes I find along the sides of roads, on the sidewalk, in medians, and in other random places. I then use these “lost soles” as writing inspiration and for my blog every Monday.

ME: I love it.

 

ME: What is your greatest fear?

JEN: My greatest fear, as it relates to writing, would have to be the fear of rejection and possibly hearing that my writing isn’t any good.

ME: I think all writers can relate.

 

ME: Describe your writing style.

JEN: I’d say my writing style is lighthearted around, of course, an underlying message. Oh, and I like to throw in the occasional  playful pun.

ME: I can second that.

 

ME: If you can spend a day with a book characters who would it be, and why?

JEN: Hmmm…what character and why? It’d have to be Mary Poppins. She is a sweet, nurturing, and gentle soul. And it doesn’t hurt that she can also create a little magic. 🙂

 

ME: If you were left on a deserted island forever, which book would you bring with you and why? 

Jen: Glass Castle spoke to me on so many levels. What a phenomenal memoir! I learned that all things are possible, no matter the circumstance.

ME: Sounds wonderful. I’m going to add that to my list of reads.

 

Thanks so much Jen for participating in my Tiny Talk. I look forward to our next meet up at another SCBWI event. I wish you great success with Lost Soles. I’m sure it’ll be a shoe in for greatness. I beat you to the pun!

One thought on “Tiny Talk Tuesday with . . . Jennifer Larson

Leave a Reply

