Tiny Talk Tuesday with . . .Monica Shaughnessy

photoMonica started out in marketing, but gave in to her urge to “life of the artist.”  She tried her hand in traditional publishing and decided to take her writing career into her own hands. She is now an Indie writer. Monica’s got several novels and kids books for sale through her micro-press, Jumping Jackalope Press.

Monica has been my critique partner in the Katy Kritique group for more than three years. I’m not kissing butt here(I only speak the truth), but the gal is talented. I have been privy to have critiqued many of her collections that are now available online. I think one of her greatest creations yet is her historical novellas. They are written through the mind of a cat. Full of historical detail, these cozy novella’s are a fictional account of Edgar Allan Poe’s real-life animal companion. I swear she lived as a cat in her past life. Not only are these novella’s creative, all her work is well-written and well-researched. untitled

This writer is a go-getter. Monica has extended herself and opened a developmental editing business.  have a ten-year history of writing, editing and critiquing. The only books she’ll pass on are erotica or “how to” non-fiction (memoirs, biographies, and creative non-fiction are okay).

She serves on the board of directors for the American Root Reading Series, a non-profit dedicated to showcasing authors and poets in the Houston.  Monica belongs to the Space City Scribes along with a few other authors. They occasionally do book signings around town and support each other through individual and group marketing efforts.

You can learn more about Monica through her website, http://www.monicashaughnessy.com, or go to Amazon to find her work. Trust me you won’t be disappointed.

Now for the “tiny” talk with Monica.

ME: What is your greatest fear?

MONICA: That I’ll look back on my life and wonder what I did with all that time. I want to accomplish things, not drift. Inertia scares the heck out of me!

 

ME: What is your favorite word in the English language and why?

MONICA: antidisestablishmentarianism – At one time, this was the longest word in the dictionary, and my grandfather taught it to me when I was five. See? I was a word-nerd even then!

ME: A nerd with a knack for writing I’d say.

 

ME: If you can spend a day with one of your book characters who would it be, and why?

MONICA: None other than Edgar Allan Poe himself. What an amazing genius! I would love to get his thoughts on writing and everything else, too. But he was a harsh critic – the harshest! So I don’t think I’d let him read my books. 🙂

ME: I’d think Mr. Poe would be impressed with your work.

ME: Tell us five words that describes you as a writer.

MONICA: bizarre, provocative, exacting, reality-bending, unique

ME: What genre have you not written in, but would love to try?

MONICA: I’ve always wanted to write a hard-edged thriller with lots of action and some science-fiction-y elements. My imagination can get pretty dark sometimes.

ME: I’d be your first customer. I love a good thriller.

Thanks so much, Monica for being part of my blog interview and an awesome critique partner. I see big things!

2 thoughts on “Tiny Talk Tuesday with . . .Monica Shaughnessy

Leave a Reply

