Book Store Visits, You Never Know

I love them!

I arrived to find my picture poster plastered in the children’s section of the store. I couldn’t believe it. Me, in Barnes & Noble.I felt like a movie star with the red carpet and all. My books displayed across the table. The manager had a plate of cookies at the corner for my little guests.

The store manager greeted me. Chris spoiled me and bought me my morning latte. Hey, it didn’t hurt that my gig had a Starbucks attached to it. And it wasn’t just any old Starbucks. It was the gourmet ones that carry cannolis!

The children started to arrive. Barnes & Noble was my opening act. They are required to read a book from their shelf before you go on. Then it was my turn. A dad helped me bring my supplies to the stage.

I wasn’t nervous and dived right into my book My Big Tree. My teaching background kicked in and it felt like second nature. I was addicted. I read my second book, Step One, Step Two, Step Three and Four and got a chuckle from the audience. That made my day. Afterwards my second love kicked it up a notch and I was in craft mode. I wanted to stay and do more with the kids. But in a blink, it was over.

Afterwards, I stationed myself behind the table and waited for my first signing. The dad, from earlier, came to my table with his wife and two boys. He said, “I was very impressed and loved the books.” I thanked him.  He then introduced himself. “I’m an elementary school principal and my wife is a junior high teacher. Do you do school visits? I’d really love to see you in my school and get the other surrounding schools to book you.” I thought, Can this really be happening? Internally, I thought, Wow, you never know who you might be talking to. So I learned to always be on my “A” game, be polite and open for anything. Who knows, next time it could be a film agent. Ha!

Leave a Reply

